Fires of Heaven Guild Message Board  

Go Back   Fires of Heaven Guild Message Board > Fires of Heaven Related Forums > MMORPG General Discussion
User Name
Password
Or, use your gamerDNA username: (more...)
ForumSpy Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 110 votes, 4.96 average. Display Modes
Old 09-26-2006, 11:25 AM   #31 (permalink)
Praetor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 427
+2 Internets
If it's a scam, I assume the real payload of the scam would be the follow-up e-mail sent to all the harvested e-mail addresses, addressing them by name, and offering a download link to the "beta client."

This strikes me as an odd way to go about handling closed beta invites, for all sorts of reasons.
__________________
Gurgthock, Elitist Jerks (Mal'Ganis)
Praetor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:31 AM   #32 (permalink)
Yukiri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 257
+4 Internets
A guildy who's alot more in the know than I am took what I posted on the guild boards and did a dns search thingy. Got these results:

Quote:
Important part:

Quote:
Received: from outbound.blizzard.com (outbound.blizzard.com [198.74.38.108])
by mx.gmail.com with ESMTP id h7si3866081wxd.2006.09.25.18.40.11;
Mon, 25 Sep 2006 18:40:11 -0700 (PDT)
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=198.74.38.108

OrgName: Vivendi Universal Interactive Publishing, Inc
Im still waiting for some blue to post, but it's beginning to lean toward this being real.
Yukiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:32 AM   #33 (permalink)
forge
CTW!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: at work
Posts: 485
-2 Internets
Me and Warrian already checked into the dns. Everything checks out there.
forge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:34 AM   #34 (permalink)
InterSlayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 26
+0 Internets
-

The email headers checked out as far as I can tell. The servers used resolve as Blizzards, so if it were fake there would have to be some pretty hard core DNS/IP address spoofing.

The return email address for the beta form is directly to Blizzard, so fake or not, at worst it just spams their beta mailbox :P
InterSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:37 AM   #35 (permalink)
Ravvenn
Administrator
 
Ravvenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,381
+143 Internets
I could see why they wouldn't announce it (psycho people posting how raiders get favored, etc) - but if it's legit, they should have used some better wording in the email because it doesn't look very good. The thing that makes me even consider it being legit is the guy it was sent to in our guild, he doesn't look at forums, he doesn't use his email for -anything- but his account.

He's still not touching it without confirmation. They should also keep in mind that a lot of people aren't too cozy sharing their full names with their guild members. Looks like a few manginas may need to come clean if they want beta!
__________________
Melia "I Win" McMomma, Fires of Heaven
It's like you're a premature ejaculator... of love. -Alcestis
Ravvenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:41 AM   #36 (permalink)
Tolanin
h8
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,366
-35 Internets
ive seen other companies do betas like that where you need to send in the names...

I think its not unreasonable they would change the format to this kinda thing, its alot harder to ebay the keys this way than if they just sent out batches of beta keys like they did for the original CB.
Tolanin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:44 AM   #37 (permalink)
Murr
Token Gnome
 
Murr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,089
+17 Internets
Send a message via AIM to Murr
What makes it seem legit is they're just asking for emails and a full name and *not* account names - I'd imagine they're just sending you a link and some sort of beta key to use like any other MMO beta, and not soliciting account names for haxoring.
__________________
rogue | mage
Murr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:48 AM   #38 (permalink)
Ravvenn
Administrator
 
Ravvenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,381
+143 Internets
If they are sending a link, it should have just been announced due to the recent issues with keyloggers (in the form of links). They should know that people are paranoid to trust any link on the Blizzard website or links related to World of Warcraft because of the high number of accounts that have been hacked in the past month alone.
__________________
Melia "I Win" McMomma, Fires of Heaven
It's like you're a premature ejaculator... of love. -Alcestis
Ravvenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 11:59 AM   #39 (permalink)
Frax
Raider Nation In Exlie
 
Frax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: To the left or right of you
Posts: 3,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravvenn
I could see why they wouldn't announce it (psycho people posting how raiders get favored, etc)
There are already at least two threads ranting about this, even though there has been no official acknowledgement that it is even from Blizz.
__________________
Government big enough to give you everything you want is a government big enough to take from you everything you have. -Gerald Ford
Frax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:02 PM   #40 (permalink)
Warrian
crushin' them guts
 
Warrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,172
You would think that *IF* it was fake, Blizzard would have made an announcement telling us to ignore it. Losing accounts only creates more work for them and I highly doubt they want that to happen.
Warrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:11 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ravvenn
Administrator
 
Ravvenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,381
+143 Internets
Tseric posted:

I will eat your cookies, then watch you cry as I do not give you a beta invite.

I am heartless, yes.


lol?

Here

Quote:
The players invited to the beta have a rather broad demographic, so looking at it as only raiding guilds being invited into the beta is simply innaccurate.

The players we need for testing and that we have invited span from individuals, to PTR contest winners, to Blizzcon attendees and yes there are some raiding groups.

The portion of players this thread seems to be focusing on amounts to about 20% of the players invited. This hardly presents itself as a situation where we are catering to a single play style or personality type.
Seems ok!
__________________
Melia "I Win" McMomma, Fires of Heaven
It's like you're a premature ejaculator... of love. -Alcestis
Ravvenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:13 PM   #42 (permalink)
Mkopec1
Registered User
 
Mkopec1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,221
Dont any of you dudes have 2nd computers?

Click the link from another comp without wow on it and you should find out if its a scam or not, right?
__________________
When I am working on a problem I never think about beauty. I only think about how to solve the problem. But when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.
Mkopec1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:14 PM   #43 (permalink)
Elmdor-ZulJin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 16
-2 Internets
I do wonder what their cutoff point for inviting raid guilds was. One Wing boss? Two? Three? I would take it from the CM Comments that this is real, however. QUite a bit of evidence is pointing to it.

I know I felt very sad when my guild got the invites yesterday and I spent 4 days levelling a Shaman to 50 in the contest (Which I still haven't recieved an e-mail about. ).
Elmdor-ZulJin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:16 PM   #44 (permalink)
Ravvenn
Administrator
 
Ravvenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,381
+143 Internets
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkopec1
Dont any of you dudes have 2nd computers?

Click the link from another comp without wow on it and you should find out if its a scam or not, right?
There-Is-No-Link
__________________
Melia "I Win" McMomma, Fires of Heaven
It's like you're a premature ejaculator... of love. -Alcestis
Ravvenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 12:18 PM   #45 (permalink)
Ravvenn
Administrator
 
Ravvenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,381
+143 Internets
PS: If you missed the link or their website goes down. It IS legit, grats Betas!!

Wewt!
__________________
Melia "I Win" McMomma, Fires of Heaven
It's like you're a premature ejaculator... of love. -Alcestis
Ravvenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

uberguilds network

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.fohguild.org/forums/mmorpg-general-discussion/24982-legit-tbc-closed-beta-invites-distribution.html
Posted By For Type Date
Uberguilds.org :: Home This thread Refback 11-22-2006 10:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6