Fires of Heaven Guild Message Board  

Go Back   Fires of Heaven Guild Message Board > General forums > General
User Name
Password
Or, use your gamerDNA username: (more...)
ForumSpy Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2009, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Vatoreus
Forza Roma! Forza Azzuri!
 
Vatoreus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 3,861
-22 Internets
Send a message via MSN to Vatoreus
Shady Site, Need Internet Sleuths to Help Out

yourmall.mychoices.biz

Gives me a funky error when trying to connect to it. Business guy that stayed in our hotel last night after having a long conversation about us both being ex-military directed me to check it out because he is the owner of a company and wants to see if I'm interested in any kind of work with him at all.

Seems shady as shit so I didn't allow the exception. Any of you with a better understanding of this kind of thing want to let me know if this is some kind of scam or what?

Also, Tits. Spoilered since it's General

Spoiler Alert, click show to read:
http://nudesplanet.com/a-heather-vandaven-big-tits-blonde-nude-babe.jpg
__________________


UOWoW Vator Druid


Vatoreus // Death Knight // Blackhand

Last edited by Tuco; 05-12-2009 at 05:38 AM..
Vatoreus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Zeste
Oooooooooooohhhh, yeeeeeeeeeesssssss
 
Zeste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,378
+69 Internets
I shall safely browse this website for you on my MACINTOSH since any malware or scripts can't affect me!

Here's what the site looks like. I heard his story, it checks out. These socks are laser guided, be careful with those:
Attached Images
 
__________________
Zeste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Zeste
Oooooooooooohhhh, yeeeeeeeeeesssssss
 
Zeste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,378
+69 Internets
oh yeah, I guess I should explain the site too, since I (sadly) work for companies that do this sort of thing.

Basically the "business" the guy started is just a turnkey business he bought for whatever sum of money, probably after clicking a spam email where he could "work from home, be your own boss!!"


Essentially - you fork over some money, they give you a copy of the site seen above, and you get to sell the stuff as your own "store" or "mall". Really, all they do is replicate the site and give you a subdomain like "zesterocks.mymall.biz". Then Zeste has a "business" where you can go buy stuff.


It's like Amway/Pyramid scheme for retards. Stay far, far away from it.
__________________
Zeste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Fog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,971
-1 Internets
Yep, looks like a website on the internet.
Fog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Suineg
Registered User
 
Suineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,646
-98 Internets
Send a message via AIM to Suineg Send a message via Yahoo to Suineg
This IS Amway iirc... I recently had a "friend" try to get me to do it.
__________________


Suineg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 06:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Zeste
Oooooooooooohhhh, yeeeeeeeeeesssssss
 
Zeste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,378
+69 Internets
Yeah, instead of the multi-level-marketing company giving you a box of shit to try to resell to your friends, these companies give you a pre-built (horrible) online mall and a subdomain.

Somtimes you don't even get a subdomain and its just "www.amwayonlinemall.com/zeste" and you and 10000000 other schmucks all try and get your grandma to buy shampoo off your new "business website".





Avoid it.
__________________
Zeste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 06:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vatoreus
Forza Roma! Forza Azzuri!
 
Vatoreus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Angelo, TX
Posts: 3,861
-22 Internets
Send a message via MSN to Vatoreus
Yea, that's what it sounded like when he was explaining it, only he was trying to do it ala Green Money Suit guy. Thanks for that No way I was allowing exceptions for security into my system lol
__________________


UOWoW Vator Druid


Vatoreus // Death Knight // Blackhand
Vatoreus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 06:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cryptin
N.O.L.A
 
Cryptin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: N'awlins
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeste View Post
I shall safely browse this website for you on my MACINTOSH since any malware or scripts can't affect me!

Here's what the site looks like. I heard his story, it checks out. These socks are laser guided, be careful with those:
Nice plug Zeste. I'm also looking at the site on my MACINTOSH UNIBODY MACBOOK.
__________________
Cryptin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
ValkyrieIsAboutToDie
Needs food badly
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,560
+39 Internets
This is the Amway pyramid scheme bullshit. I've gotten two free meals so far from people giving me presentations on this crap.

The first time I brought my buddy along. We got baked as fuck and went to an all-you-can-eat Pizza buffet. These three ultra clean-cut people sat us down, played a longwinded movie on a laptop, and told us about "magic portals" and shit while I stuffed my stoned face silly. It was incredible.

P.S. the three "product" lines they own are fucking AWFUL.
ValkyrieIsAboutToDie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 07:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Believe
Analyst and Therapist
 
Believe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,065
-14 Internets
Haha multi-level marketing companies are funny. I remember my friends in high school got convinced to join Usana.

After they all signed up, they actually convinced me to go to a recruitment meeting at some kids house. I must admit, the recruiters are pretty damn convincing. Some guy in a Lamborghini pulls and and then pretty much charms your socks off for an hour about how great they are and how you can achieve what he has. Just about any high school kid is ready to sign up for $100 bucks after that. Now that I think about it, it was pretty sad how they were preying on high school kids.

Luckily at the time I decided not to sign or pay anything until I could find more information about it. Pretty good decision, considering my none of my friends made any money at all from it.
__________________
Believe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 11:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Agraza
Issh good, no?
 
Agraza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,042
Fuck your sig that makes me think there are bugs on my screen.
__________________
Theel Maas, eJapan::Join us
Agraza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 11:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
FulorianC
Real Life Apologist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Denton, Texas
Posts: 2,036
Send a message via AIM to FulorianC
I know a guy that's big on Usana - and he's an MBA. I'm not quite sure how they bamboozled him, but oh well.
FulorianC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2009, 11:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Suineg
Registered User
 
Suineg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,646
-98 Internets
Send a message via AIM to Suineg Send a message via Yahoo to Suineg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agraza View Post
Fuck your sig that makes me think there are bugs on my screen.
I totally freaked out also.
__________________


Suineg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Czaza
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39

I was wondering wtf you guys were talking about until it dawned on me that there must be some sort of "show signatures Yeay/nay" box. And apparently there is


Czaza is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 05:40 AM   #15 (permalink)
Tuco
Forum Janitor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Detroit
Posts: 10,721
+75 Internets
Send a message via AIM to Tuco
That multi-leveling marketing shit would be fine if it weren't for the crappy products they have.
Tuco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

uberguilds network



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6