|
|
Or, use your gamerDNA username: (more...)
| ||||||
| |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Caveman Lawyer Join Date: Oct 2002 Location: DC
Posts: 523
| Paypal scam? I got an email today from serviceI@paypal.com. It says someone in a foreign country was trying to access my account and tells me to follow a link to verify that I have not accessed paypal from out of the country in the past several days. Its very well done and looks just like any other emails you get from paypal. The thing that makes me think its a scam is: 1. The "I" at the end of "service" in the email. 2. The fact that they don't ask me to login and view my account, but rather that I follow a link in the email. 3. There is a sentence at the end: "If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporarily suspend your account." That makes it sound like a scam. So my question is has anyone else gotten an email like this and can they confirm if it is a scam? Also, should I report this to paypal and how do I do that?
__________________ Free MP3 Player or $275! |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) | |
| Registered User Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,873
| Defintely a scam. I don't know why people post here asking about scams like these as if they are something new. I get anywhere from 5 to 10 scam emails a week, and they are all in a different format. I used to be a heavy ebayer, so I have been bombarded by these emails for the last year or so. Either they want access to my ebay or my paypal account. I believe that ebay/paypal have stated that they will never post a link for you to sign in, because there are too many links that take you to fake sites (that look real). The thieves then get your id and pw info, and then they can either use your ebay id or access your paypal account. Either way it is bad. Most scam emails try to create a sense of urgency (you need to fix the problem or be banned in the next 24 hours, we will report you to the authorities) and have links that look like they are close to the official address (but slightly different). My advice to you is to delete the email, run a spyware and virus scan (to make sure they didn't plant anything on your comp). If you log into paypal DIRECTLY, if there are any account problems they will let you know.
__________________ Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) | |
| Registered User Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,873
| Lol, I jsut checked my email and got the same scam email about my account being accessed from Romania.
__________________ Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| ^ X-box live gamertag and PSN ID Join Date: Jan 2003 Location: New Orleans
Posts: 649
| Yeah I got that same email a while ago. It was asking me to reset my Paypal password but the funny thing that they sent the email to me old Paypal email addy and not my current one. |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Caveman Lawyer Join Date: Oct 2002 Location: DC
Posts: 523
| You guys don't have to be dicks about it...I said I thought it was a scam and wanted to see what everyone else thought. I surf the web a fair shair but am obviously not ultra sophisticated with internet stuff. I could definetly see my parents or somebody falling for this shit no problem so I reported to paypal.
__________________ Free MP3 Player or $275! |
| | |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Blackologist Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,510
| interesting that someone with the ability to spoof an email address chose "serviceI" and not just "service". your best bet though is to just assume everyone is lying when they ask you to verify or give out information. if you have doubts do not follow any links, but rather go to the site in question yourself in a new browser window, like www.paypal.com and send an email their customer service or any other site in question.
__________________ |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| There can be only win Join Date: Sep 2003 Location: 'yurp'
Posts: 201
+2 Internets | Usually, scams will make use of fake links in emails that look legit at first but actually direct you somewhere else. Like this www.paypal.com looks like paypal but if you mouse over it or click it, you can see it goes somewhere else (usually to a clone site or to one that installs spyware). |
| | |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
| |