Fires of Heaven Guild Message Board  

Go Back   Fires of Heaven Guild Message Board > General forums > General
User Name
Password
ForumSpy Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2005, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ronne
Hurrah for happenstance.
 
Ronne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Harvard IL
Posts: 3,994
+2 Internets
Send a message via AIM to Ronne
Citibank email scam ?

Anyone get one of these emails?


Dear Citicard Member,

Recently, our Account Review Team identified some unusual activity in your
account. In accordance with our User Agreement and to ensure that your
account has not been compromised, access to your account was flagged.
Your account will remain flagged until this issue has been resolved.
This is a fraud prevention measure meant to ensure that your account
is not compromised.

We encourage you to log in and restore full access as soon as possible.
Should your account remain flagged for an extended period of time,
it may result in further limitations on the use of your account or
may result in eventual account closure.


Please click on the link below to complete the verification process
and restore full access to your account.

https://www.citibank.com/us/cards/?f...23&type=verify

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.
We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
Citibank Customer Service
A member of Citigroup

P. O. Box 6500
Sioux Falls, SD 57117

Means nothing to me, since I don't have a Citibank account or card, but the domain name the link sends you to is http://81.215.116.179/citibank/index.htm, which reeks of fake. Curious if this is a wide-spread thing, since for this email to even get into my private email box that I never give to anyone but friends is rather annoying.

Edit: That link works when I click it from my inbox, sends me to a fairly authentic looking citibank form, quite a trixy hoax~

Last edited by Ronne : 03-08-2005 at 09:18 PM.
Ronne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 09:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ronne
Hurrah for happenstance.
 
Ronne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Harvard IL
Posts: 3,994
+2 Internets
Send a message via AIM to Ronne
This is the page it sends me to from my inbox
Ronne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Haldin Darconis
Me.
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 140
+0 Internets
Looks like a standard phishing scam.

Bottom line: Don't trust emails that sound anything like that one. If you are genuinely concerned, type the website address yourself and check out the site. Something this important would certainly be big news on the site, right? Just make sure you don't go there based off of a link from an email. Or, better yet, call the company and find out.
Haldin Darconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2005, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Duppin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,319
-17 Internets
Added a , onto the end of the URL to get to their 404 error page:

Sayfa bulunamıyor
Aradığınız sayfa kaldırılmış, adı değiştirilmiş ya da geçici olarak kullanım dışı olabilir.

Lütfen aşağıdakileri deneyin:

* Sayfa adresini Adres çubuğuna yazdıysanız, doğru yazıldığından emin olun.
* Lütfen 81.215.116.179 giriş sayfasını açın ve istediğiniz bilgilere ilişkin bağlantıları arayın.
* Başka bir bağlantıyı denemek için Geri düğmesini tıklatın.

HTTP 404 - Dosya bulunamadı
Internet Information Services

Teknik Bilgiler (destek personeli için)

* Daha fazla bilgi:
Microsoft Desteği

Does that answer your question?
Duppin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 12:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renolin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 202
+0 Internets
When it's financial emails, the general rule is to go to the website yourself, never click email links and enter in a password. Every financial institution that I've heard of won't send important information in emails, only by standard mail.

Renolin
Renolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 03:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
EnigmaticParadigm
Is Kermit gunna have to make a bitch go "GLARRRRGH?!"
 
EnigmaticParadigm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Pre World War III America
Posts: 2,480
+53 Internets
For that type of a secure page, shouldn't it be "https://" rather than "http://?"

There was a pretty big phish scam a few weeks ago with Yahoo DSL users. I replied to all of the emails with .gifs featuring the seizure robots.


I hope they all died.
__________________
EnigmaticParadigm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2005, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
revco_38
Moderate Toaster
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 68
+0 Internets
Quote:
Originally posted by EnigmaticParadigm
There was a pretty big phish scam a few weeks ago with Yahoo DSL users. I replied to all of the emails with .gifs featuring the seizure robots.


I hope they all died.

Gold.
revco_38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 09:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ronne
Hurrah for happenstance.
 
Ronne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Harvard IL
Posts: 3,994
+2 Internets
Send a message via AIM to Ronne
Okay wtf, I woke up this morning and now I have 73 of that same email. They trying to spam me into giving them money now or what? Wish I had thought to block the address~
Ronne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2005, 11:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Matt the Gimp
sylvos is going to have my butt babies
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,792
-2 Internets
If it was a real bank they'd also have their phone number in the e-mail.

Bottom line: if a bank e-mail comes up that truly concerns you, call the number on the back of your debit card/credit card, etc.
Matt the Gimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
uberguilds network



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6